Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Masterworks – Pictures of Sound

May 21, 2023 @ 3:00 pm

Doors open at 2:00 pm. If you have specific questions about tickets or the concert, please call us at 262.636.9285 or email heather@racinesymphony.org.

JOIN US AT OUR SEASON FINALE! The Racine Symphony Orchestra has made a change in guest artist for its May 21 concert. Jennifer Frautschi has been replaced by Grace Park. “Artistic Director Pasquale Laurino and I could not be more pleased with this opportunity to replace one superlative musician with another. Miss Park will perform the same work, the monumental Brahms Violin Concerto, and deliver to RSO audiences an international-level of artistry,” stated Executive Director, Jonathan Winkle.

Debussy’s Prelude to an Afternoon of a Faun is considered to be the beginning of modern music. Featuring solo flute, the evocative nature of the work is still stunning to hear today.

To conclude the 91st season, the RSO will perform Modest Mussorgsky’s exhilarating Pictures at an Exhibition arranged by Maurice Ravel. This work musically depicts 10 of Viktor Hartmann’s drawings and watercolors and is a masterpiece of sound-color. The ending is one of the most exciting in all of music.

Praised by the San Francisco Chronicle as being “fresh, different and exhilarating” and Strings Magazine as “intensely wrought and burnished,” violinist Grace Park is a past winner of the Naumburg International Violin Competition. She is one of the leading artists of her generation. Ms. Park has appeared as soloist, recitalist, and chamber musician throughout the United States, Europe, Asia, and Canada at venues such as Walt Disney Hall, Carnegie Hall, The Kennedy Center, The Rudolfinum in Prague, Schubert Club, Metropolitan Museum of Art, and Jordan Hall. She has performed and participated in festivals such as Music@Menlo, IMS Prussia Cove, Festival Mozaic, Yellowbarn, and Perlman Music Program.

Order Your Tickets Today!


Side Balcony



Premium Concert Seating

Rows 1-5


Concert Seating

Rows 6-10


General Admission



Premium concert seating: seating on the floor in rows 1-5
Concert seating: seating on the floor in rows 6-10
General Admission: all in the main balcony…there will be no general admission seating on the floor
Students 18 and Under: Children 12 and under are free. Students 13-18 are $5. Applies to General Admission areas only. Please contact the office at 262.636.9285 to reserve your child’s seat.


May 21, 2023
3:00 pm
Event Categories:


Memorial Hall
72 7th St
Racine, WI 53403 United States
+ Google Map